In 2006/07 school year, the“EatSmart@school.hk”campaign was launched by the Department of Health (DH) in joint effort with the Education Bureau and stakeholders from various sectors. The campaign targets all primary schools and aims to tackle the worsening problem of childhood obesity, and to lower children's risk of diseases associated with eating habits.

The“EatSmart@school.hk”campaign has two major components: EatSmart School Accreditation Scheme (ESAS) and Joyful Fruit Day. The former provides guidance and assistance for schools to develop a sustainable healthy eating environment on campus while the latter promotes an atmosphere that supports fruit intake and cultivation of fruit eating habits among students. These initiatives are warmly welcomed by schools, and enthusiastically supported by stakeholders from various sectors, for which I extend my gratitude.

Our data show that the problem of overweight and obesity is rampant among local primary students; as about one in five is overweight or obese. This issue must be dealt with in a concerted manner. Faced with the challenge posed by undesirable food culture in various guises, for instance, ever-changing tactics that market fatty, sugary or high-salt foods to children, we must not waver in our efforts!

Schools are not only responsible for developing, implementing and promulgating policies that foster a supportive healthy eating environment, they also have to work with parents in monitoring the nutritional quality of school lunch and snacks, and give students guidance on how to make healthy food choices. Parents should act as role models for kids. They should acquire basic knowledge about how to maintain a balanced diet so as to help children cultivate positive eating habits. Food suppliers, as socially responsible corporations, should strengthen technical know-how, improve the management, production and supply of healthy lunch and snacks, enhance communication with schools and parents to promote healthier food choices, and encourage students to select food items good for health. We will continue to render professional support and work collaboratively with all stakeholders for the greatest impact on children's health.

I sincerely invite all primary schools to take part in the ESAS in our collective effort to build a learning atmosphere that is safer, healthier, happier and more caring, all for the sake of our children's healthy development.

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

早於2006/07學年,本署已聯同教育局及多個不同界別的合作伙伴在全港小學開展「健康飲食在校園」運動,以助解決日趨嚴重的兒童肥胖問題及減少兒童患上各種與飲食習慣有密切關係的疾病。

「健康飲食在校園」運動主要包括「至『營』學校認證計劃」和「開心『果』日」兩大項目,前者以認證的方式引導及協助學校建立更健康而持久的校園飲食氛圍及環境,後者則讓學童在愉快氣氛中共進水果,從而培養持續每天吃水果的良好習慣。有關項目深受學界歡迎並得到各界合作伙伴鼎力支持,我謹此致謝。

根據本署資料顯示,香港小學學童過重及肥胖情況仍然嚴重,約每五名小學生便有一人屬於過重或肥胖,極需各界一同正視和處理。面對現今社會不良飲食文化的種種挑戰,例如市場上針對兒童推銷含高脂肪、高糖或高鹽食品層出不窮的手法,我們的工作絕不能鬆懈!

學校方面,除了負責發展、籌劃及宣傳健康飲食政策,營造一個健康的飲食環境外,還得聯合家長監察學校午膳和小食的營養質素,為學生如何選擇健康的食物提供指導;家長則要掌握均衡飲食的基本知識,引導子女選擇合適食品和培養均衡飲食習慣,同時以身作則,為小朋友的學習作良好榜樣;食品供應商應負上良好企業公民責任,透過加強營養專業指導及改良午膳和小食的製作流程和管理,積極與學校及家長溝通和合力推動健康的飲食選擇,鼓勵學童挑選有利健康的食物。為了讓上述工作能夠產生更大的協同效應,本署將繼續與各界密切合作,並提供適切的專業支援。

最後,我誠意邀請尚未參與「至『營』學校認證計劃」的學校盡快加入行列,讓我們為孩子的健康成長共同創造一個更安全、健康、關愛和快樂的生活環境。

2A無障礙說明