Background

Almost everyone knows that eating fruit can reduce the risk of heart disease, stroke and certain cancers. However, local surveys indicated that only barely over half of primary students have a habit of taking fruit at least twice a day. Hence, as an overarching part of the EatSmart@school.hk Campaign, the Department of Health (DH) has organised annual "Joyful Fruit Day" fruit promoting activities since 2007 in collaboration with a number of organisations. The activities have along well received by schools, with participation of some 440,000 students from over 1,000 schools in the 2009-10 school year. In the school year of 2010-11, DH will again organise the Joyful Fruit Day to advocate healthy eating among students.

Co-organisers and Supporters

The Joyful Fruit Day activities are co-organised by the Department of Health, Education Bureau, Committee on Home-School Co-operation, Hong Kong Education City, Hong Kong College of Cardiology, Radio Television Hong Kong and World Cancer Research Fund Hong Kong, and supported by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department and Parent-Teacher Associations of various districts in Hong Kong.

Aim

The Joyful Fruit Day activities aim to promote home-school cooperation and create a favourable atmosphere so that students are encouraged to maintain a habit of eating an adequate amount of fruit every day. Schools are invited to organise a series of activities which aim to cultivate a harmonious environment for students to initiate a daily habit of fruit consumption. In this school year, 27 April 2011 has been chosen as the official Joyful Fruit Day. We encourage schools to extend the joyful atmosphere as 'Fruit Month' till 26 May 2011, so that it would be more flexible to organise activities to reach a climax. You are cordially invited to join us!

School Activities

Activities will be held for the following three groups. While pre-primary students will become "Fruit Ambassador" and be responsible for promoting fruit intake among family members and friends, primary students could join our "Fruit‧Sweet‧Home" Model Making Competition. Under the theme of "Family and Love", this event aims to foster home-school cooperation and encourage a favourable environment and atmosphere for children to take fruit with their family every day. We will also launch a "Secondary School Fruit Promotion Project". Under the supervision of teachers, secondary students are encouraged to organise one or more school-based activities aiming at increasing the total fruit consumption of school staff and students. DH will support schools with provision of materials like banners, posters, leaflets, as well as a variety of online resources. "Fruit preparation and eating diary" and "Fruit Ambassador Stickers" will also be provided to enrolled pre- primary institutions.

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

背景

進食水果能降低患上心臟病、中風和某些癌症等疾病的風險已是眾所周知的事。然而,本地調查顯示,只有僅過半數的小學生每天吃水果兩次或以上。有見及此,衞生署自2007年起聯同多個機構,每年為學界舉辦俗稱「水果日」的「開心『果』日」活動,作為「健康飲食在校園」運動的其中一個重要環節,並得到學界的持 續熱烈支持,2009至2010學年更獲超過1,000間學校44萬多名學生參與。本署於2010至2011學年將繼續籌辦有關活動,藉此鼓勵學生持續健康飲食。

主辦機構及支持組織

本活動是由衞生署、教育局、家庭與學校合作事宜委員會、香港教育城、香港心臟專科學院、香港電台及世界癌症研究基金會(香港)等機構主辦,並獲食物環境衞生署及全港各區家長教師會聯會協力支持。

目的

本活動旨在通過家校合作,為學生營造一個喜愛進食水果的環境,培育他們持續每天吃充足水果的習慣。本學年度的開心「果」日定為2011年4月27日,我們更鼓勵所有中、小學校及學前機構將水果推廣活動伸展至5月26日,作為「水果月」活動,透過靈活安排相關項目,營造愉快氣氛,培育學生於校園和家中進食水果的興趣及積極性,將有關活動推至高峰。

學校活動

活動內容分三方面:學前兒童組除繼續培育進食水果的自理能力外,今年將加入「水果大使」的元素,鼓勵兒童向家人和朋友推廣每天吃水果;小學生組則舉行以 「家人及親情」為主題的『水果‧愛‧家人』模型製作比賽,並鼓勵家校合作,讓家長和子女一起營造有利於全家天天吃水果的環境及氣氛;中學生組更將開展「校 園水果推廣計劃」,鼓勵學生在老師指導下展開一項或多項自由設計的校園活動,以提高全體師生的水果進食量。衞生署將於稍後時間向各組提供適用物資,包括橫 額、海報、單張和多種可供下載的網上資源,以及供學前兒童組學生使用的「預備及進食水果日記咭」及精美「水果大使」貼紙,作獎勵和推廣每天吃水果之用。

2A無障礙說明