Building a healthy eating habit from a young age is important in terms of healthy growth and prevention of chronic diseases down the road. However, the Nutrient Testing of School Lunches in Primary Schools in Hong Kong 2013 conducted by the Department of Health revealed that the sodium content in over 90% of the examined lunches exceeded the recommended intake for a meal. Excessive intake of sodium could lead to hypertension, which is a major cause of cardiovascular diseases and stroke. On the other hand, according to the World Health Organization, decreasing dietary intake of salt to 5g per day in adults would reduce the risk of stroke by 23% and that of cardiovascular diseases by 17%.

In 2015, the 'Working Group on Promoting Healthy School Lunch' (the Working Group), with representatives from primary school principal associations, school lunch suppliers and other stakeholders, was established under the EatSmart@School.hk Campaign. Upon deliberation, the Working Group identified reduction of sodium content in school lunch as the priority area of work.

Under the recommendation of the Working Group, six school lunch suppliers (Asia Pacific Catering Corporation Limited - Luncheon Star, Danny Catering Service Limited, Delicious Chef King Catering Limited, Hearty Meal (A member of Maxim's Group), LSG Catering China Limited and Sailing Boat Luncheon Production Limited) participated in the Pilot Project on Sodium Reduction in School Lunch Boxes (Pilot Project) from September to December 2016 and cut down the sodium levels of 16 school lunch options by 3% to 35% with the use of less seasoning or modification of recipes.

Based on the encouraging results from the Pilot Project, the DH launched the "Salt Reduction Scheme for School Lunches" in the 2017/18 school year. A total of 13 lunch suppliers participated in the Scheme which will supply sodium-reduced lunches to around 440 primary schools in Hong Kong starting September 2017. As of mid-September 2017, participating lunch suppliers have committed to provide around 280 sodium-reduced lunch options to schools in the 2017/18 school year, with the average level of sodium reduction being 9%. They have also pledged to provide sodium-reduced lunch options in 2% to 90% of all the lunch options available for schools each month. The DH will review the recipes of such school lunches for assessing the sodium level and amount of sodium reduction.

Schools are encouraged to help monitor school lunches with reference to the "Nutritional Guidelines on Lunch for Students", while parents can help by using less sodium-containing seasonings in their diet at home, thus creating all-round efforts in reducing students' sodium intake and building a solid foundation for their long-term health.

The DH will regularly update the Database of lunch suppliers participating in the Salt Reduction Scheme for School Lunches 2017/18.

Lunch suppliers are encouraged to join the Scheme by completing the application form (Chinese only).

Press Release

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

自幼養成健康的飲食習慣,是健康成長和預防患上慢性疾病的重要因素。然而,衞生署於2013年進行的「香港小學午膳營養素測試」發現,超過九成午膳樣本的鈉含量超出建議每餐攝入量。長期進食高鈉食物會增加患高血壓的風險,而高血壓是患心血管疾病及中風的主因。另一方面,世界衞生組織指出,若成年人將每日膳食攝入鹽的分量減至5克,中風風險將下降23%,心血管疾病風險則可減少17%。

於2015年,於「健康飲食在校園」運動下,衞生署聯同小學校長會、午膳供應商和其他持份者成立「推動學生健康午膳工作小組」。經商討後,該工作小組認爲降低學校午膳的鈉含量是首要的工作項目。

在該工作小組的倡議下,六個午膳供應商包括泛亞飲食有限公司–活力午餐、丹尼食品有限公司、美味王餐飲管理有限公司、原美(美心集團旗下品牌)、德國漢莎膳食服務(中國)有限公司和帆船美膳制作有限公司,於2016年9至12月期間參與了「學校午膳減鈉先導計劃」(先導計劃),透過減少調味料的使用、更改配方等減鈉方法,將16個午膳餐款的鈉含量減少3%至35%。

建基於先導計劃的成功經驗,衞生署於2017/18學年推行「學校午膳減鹽計劃」。13間已參與計劃的午膳供應商於2017年9月起,為全港約440間小學的學童提供減鈉午膳餐款。截至2017年9月中,這些午膳供應商已承諾於2017/18學年提供約280個減鈉午膳餐款,平均減鈉幅度為9%,而每月供學校選擇的全部餐款中將有2%至90%為減鈉餐款。衞生署將審查減鈉午膳的食譜,以評估這些餐款的鈉含量及相應的減幅。

衞生署鼓勵學校根據《學生午膳營養指引》監察午膳,而家長可於家中預備食物時減少使用含鈉的調味料,全方位減低學童的鈉攝入量,爲他們長遠健康建立基礎。

衞生署將定期更新參與2017/18學年「學校午膳減鹽計劃」的參與午膳供應商資料

衞生署鼓勵午膳供應商參與2017/18學年「學校午膳減鹽計劃」,並填妥報名表格

新聞稿

2A無障礙說明