EatSmart@school.hk   EatSmart@school.hk   
  
 
Interesting Tips
How to determine whether a child is overweight or underweight?
You can use the Weight-for-Height Chart to determine whether a child's weight is proportional to his or her height. If a child's weight exceeds the weight-for-height median by 20% (i.e. 120% of the median) or more, he or she is overweight. If a child weighs 20% less than the weight-for-height median (i.e. 80% of the median) or below, he or she is underweight. Children who are overweight or underweight are advised to consult a physician or a dietitian for follow-up.
My child is a picky eater. What should I do?
In general, the term "picky eater" refers to a child who refuses to eat certain foods. The reasons behind such behaviour may include unpleasant eating experience, imitating care-givers' eating behaviours, misconception about food and nutrition, and dental problems. Instead of seeing picky eating as disobedience, parents should try to find out the reasons behind picky eating and work out a solution.
Most children's picky eating habits will improve as they grow up. As long as children do not have a dislike for all foods in a whole food group and their growth and bodily functions are not affected, it is acceptable for them to be picky eaters occasionally. Parents should provide a wide variety of foods, create a relaxing dining environment, and act as role models by eating together with children. Moreover, parents can encourage children to try out their disliked foods in different ways, such as modifying the cooking methods, giving verbal praises, and cooking children's disliked foods with them so as to change their impression of these foods.
The "Nutritional Guidelines on Lunch for Students" (latest version) recommends that a healthy lunch should provide grains, vegetables and meat (and its alternatives) in the ratio of 3:2:1 by volume. Will children's growth and development be affected if meat has the least portion in a diet?
According to the Healthy Eating Food Pyramid, children need a moderate amount of protein. To obtain adequate protein for maintaining bodily functions and healthy growth, lower primary students and upper primary students are recommended to have 1 to 2 servings and 1½ to 2½ servings of meat, fish, egg and alternatives respectively in each meal.
My child always feels hungry. Is it normal?
As children have a small stomach capacity and high activity level, they may easily feel hungry. When children are hungry, parents can prepare low-fat, low-salt, low-sugar, and high-dietary fibre snacks with reference to the "Nutritional Guidelines on Snacks for Students" (latest version) issued by the Department of Health. However, please bear in mind that snacks should not be consumed excessively. Snacking should also not be too close to a main meal as this will spoil children's appetite.
My child is skinny. No matter what he/she eats, he/she does not gain weight, what should I do?
There are many causes of leanness or poor absorption of nutrition, including inborn factors or unhealthy eating habits. Parents may first observe their children's eating habits, and refer to the Healthy Eating Food Pyramid in order to determine whether their children have obtained adequate nutrition. Parents can also help their children develop a regular eating pattern and prepare for them balanced meals or healthy snacks. Besides, doing exercise is beneficial for body growth. If there is no substantial improvement, please seek professional advice from a physician or a dietitian.
Children love sugary foods. Can I use sugar substitutes to replace granulated sugar?
Sugar substitutes, also known as sweeteners, are a sweet-tasting but low-energy food additive that can replace sugar in foods. If sweeteners are added to a food, children are more likely to develop a sweet tooth. To avoid affecting their health and development, primary students are advised to minimise the consumption of sweeteners. On the other hand, it is advisable to encourage children to eat sweets in moderation and reduce dietary sugar intake starting from a young age.
My child wants late-night snacks. What should I do?
Parents should understand their children's needs. If children feel so hungry that they cannot fall asleep, parents may give them healthy snacks in small quantity, e.g. wheat bread, bread roll, fresh fruit or low-fat milk; over-eating should be strictly avoided. If eating late-night snacks is simply a bad habit of children, parents should provide proper guidance to help them develop healthy eating habits.
How many vegetables should children eat in the other two main meals if vegetables are not included in their breakfast?
Children aged 6 to 11 should eat at least 2 servings of vegetables every day, while 1 serving of vegetables is equivalent to one bowl of uncooked vegetables or half a bowl cooked vegetables. If vegetables are not included in their breakfast, children should eat a sufficient amount of vegetables that are evenly distributed over lunch, dinner or tea time.
My child's weight is on an increasing trend, but he/she is not full when given too little food. What should I do?
When children's weight is on an increasing trend, parents do not need to worry too much. It is not necessary to put children on fad diets, which affect their growth and development. By encouraging children to exercise and break the bad dietary habits, parents can help them maintain a normal weight. To offer children a sufficient portion of meals with balanced nutrition, parents may follow the recommendations in the "Nutritional Guidelines on Lunch for Students" (latest version) issued by the Department of Health. Please note that if a diet is too strict or if children use an inappropriate method to lose weight, their physical and mental development is likely to be affected. If necessary, parents may seek professional advice from a physician or a dietitian.
How long before bed should I stop eating? Is eating absolutely not allowed?
Since it would take about 3 to 4 hours for the stomach to empty, you should avoid eating for 3 to 4 hours before bed to prevent stomach discomfort. However, if you feel hungry before bed, you may eat a small amount of healthy snacks, e.g. wheat bread, bread roll, fresh fruit or low-fat milk.
Is the potato a vegetable?
Similar to the sweet potato, the potato is considered as "grains" because of its high carbohydrate content. For other root and stem vegetables (e.g. taro and carrot) that are considered as "grains" , they should be counted as vegetables due to their high dietary fibre content.
Would low-fat dairy products (e.g. milk, yoghurt or cheese) be less nutritious?
Dairy products are rich in calcium and are good for children's development of teeth and bones. In fact, low-fat dairy products are to a certain extent similar to full-fat dairy products in terms of nutritional components, such as protein and calcium. Nevertheless, compared to full-fat dairy products, low-fat dairy products have lower energy and fat content, which can help maintain a healthy body weight.
Is chicken healthier than beef?
The nutritional profile of red meat (e.g. pork, beef and lamb) is slightly different from that of white meat (e.g. fish and skinless chicken). Red meat is richer in iron, which is essential to the production of red blood cells, whereas white meat has less fat than red meat. Therefore, red meat and white meat have their respective benefits. You can improve your health by consuming both types of meat in moderation in the daily diet, and using low-fat, low-salt and low-sugar cooking methods.
What does "serving/portion" mean? What is the difference between "serving/portion" and "serving size/portion size"?
"Serving/portion" is a unit commonly used in the dietetics profession for describing the amount of food an individual should have from different food groups on a daily basis, whereas "serving size/portion size" describes the quantity of food in a "serving/portion". For example, an adult should eat at least 3 servings of vegetables every day; 1 serving of vegetables is equivalent to half a bowl of cooked vegetables or 1 bowl (about 250 to 300ml) of uncooked vegetables.
What is saturated fat?
Saturated fat is also known as "saturated fatty acid". When consumed excessively, it will cause overweight or obesity and boost the bad cholesterol level in the blood, thus increasing the risk of cardiovascular diseases and stroke. Most fat and oil from animals and a few kinds of vegetable oil, such as coconut oil and palm oil, are high in saturated fat. It is advisable to minimise the consumption of saturated fat.
What kinds of edible oil are healthy?
Healthier choices of vegetable oil, such as olive oil, canola oil or corn oil, contain more unsaturated fat Yet, bear in mind that even though there are different kinds of oil, their energy content is more or less the same. They will cause obesity and affect our health if excessively consumed.
What is palm oil? Is it easily found in food?
Palm oil is a kind of vegetable oil extracted from the fruits of palm trees. As it is high in saturated fat, excessive intake will raise the bad cholesterol level in the blood and increase the risk of cardiovascular diseases or stroke. Many food manufacturers use palm oil to produce ready-to-eat food items or snacks, such as instant noodles, cup noodles, potato chips, shrimp crackers or biscuits with fillings. Members of the public should limit the consumption of these food items and pay attention to the ingredient list on the package to determine whether a food item contains palm oil.
Are grape seed oil and rice bran oil healthy?
Grape seed oil and rice bran oil are vegetable oils that are rich in unsaturated fat which helps lower the blood cholesterol level and reduce the risk of cardiovascular diseases.
Some probiotic drinks in the market are labelled as healthy drinks. Are they beneficial for children?
Research findings show that probiotics are good for intestinal health. However, most probiotic drinks in the market contain added sugar. Over-consumption of such drinks may cause excessive intake of sugar or energy and damage our health. Therefore, probiotic drinks should not be consumed excessively. For a probiotic drink with 5 to 7.5g sugar per 100ml, children are recommended to limit the consumption to no more than 2 times in a five-day school week and maintain a balanced diet.
Can I give sports drinks to children as a substitute for water?
Most sports drinks available in the market contain mainly water and sugar. If children replenish loss of fluids by consuming sports drinks instead of water on a daily basis, they may develop a sweet tooth, thereby hindering the establishment of healthy dietary habits. cTo replenish fluid loss, Therefore, water is the best and most convenient drink choice. Children should therefore drink fluids water regularly throughout the day to replenish fluid loss.
Is margarine much healthier than butter? Can I feel free to use more margarine for cooking?
Using margarine instead of butter for cooking will not be healthier. because it contains trans fat, which will raise the bad cholesterol level in the blood and lower the level of good cholesterol if consumed excessively. This increases the risk of cardiovascular diseases or stroke. Moreover, as margarine has the same level of energy as butter, it will lead to obesity if consumed excessively.
I seldom use oil when cooking. Why am I still obese?
In addition to fat and oil, excessive intake of any kinds of food will result in consuming too much energy, which will easily lead to obesity. Therefore, you should pay attention to the amount of food you eat. For details, please refer to the Healthy Eating Food Pyramid as a reference. Moreover, a sedentary lifestyle will lower the energy expenditure, thereby contributing to excess energy, which will be stored by the body as fat. To maintain a healthy weight, you should exercise regularly in addition to dietary control.
Is long-boiled pork bone soup good for the body?
Many people think that long-boiled pork bone soup is rich in calcium, believing that it would benefit children's bone development. In fact, boiling does not release calcium from the pork bones; it simply dissolves a massive amount of fat (especially saturated fat into the soup, which will easily result in over-consumption of saturated fat Thus, both long-boiled pork bone soup is not recommended for frequent consumption. For the sake of children's health, parents can make clear soup with gourds, vegetables, dry beans and a moderate amount of fish or lean meat.
Do lower primary students and upper primary students have the same portion of lunch?
As the daily nutritional needs of lower and upper primary students are not the same, their demands for grains and meat and its alternatives are different. Please refer to the "Nutritional Guidelines on Lunch for Students" (latest version) for more information about the recommended quantity. As for the recommended intake of vegetables and fruits, it is generally the same for all students.
What is the intake ratio of energy or nutrients for breakfast, lunch and dinner?
The three main meals should each provide 30% of the energy or nutrients needed for a day.
What could be done if the food provided by the current school lunch supplier is not quite healthy and parents do not have time to prepare lunch for their children?
Parents may refer to the "Nutritional Guidelines on Lunch for Students" (latest version) issued by the Department of Health and reflect the nutritional problem in school lunch to the dedicated working group in school.
If I eat less rice and more different types of food, will I take in more nutrients without getting fat?
No. Grains, vegetables and meat and its alternatives should be served in the ratio of 3:2:1 by volume in a healthy main meal. Grains, such as rice and noodles, should be eaten the most since they are rich in carbohydrates and provide energy to the body. Vegetables and fruits are a rich source of dietary fibre, vitamins and minerals. As fresh vegetables and fruits are also low in energy and fat, they should be eaten more often. For children aged 6 to 11, they need to eat at least 2 servings of vegetables and 2 servings of fruit a day. As meat contains more fat than rice, it should be eaten in moderation, or else it can cause weight gain when consumed excessively.
Why do children have snacks?
If children have three balanced meals a day with adequate intake of energy and nutrients, snacks are not a must-have. Since children usually have a smaller stomach, they may not take in enough food during main meals to meet their nutritional needs. In addition, as children have a high activity level, snacks can be used for energy and water replenishment. Yet, please remember that snacks should neither be consumed excessively nor used as a substitute for main meals.
When is the right time for children to have snacks?
Snacks should be served between two main meals. To avoid affecting children's appetite for the next main meal, the snack time should be at least 1.5 to 2 hours away from the main meal.
My child loves fried and deep-fried snacks. What should I do?
To improve children's eating habit, you can first reduce their weekly frequency of eating fried and deep-fried snacks. Then gradually, you can use a variety of fresh vegetables or fruits to replace fried and deep-fried snacks. Parents should be patient with children and provide them with different kinds of fruits and vegetables that have fresh taste and bright colours. As children are good at adapting, they can soon get used to the new taste.
If children do not like to drink water for replenishment of fluids, can I give them Tetra Pak drinks or sweet drinks?
Adequate fluid intake is vital to the body. It can help digest and absorb food, increase metabolism and prevent constipation. Parents should always encourage children to drink more water. It is advisable to drink about 6 to 8 glasses of fluids every day. As Tetra Pak juice with added sugar has a higher sugar content, over-consumption can lead to overweight and obesity. In addition to water, low-fat milk and low-sugar soy milk are good choices as well.
Should schoolchildren skip breakfast to avoid over-eating if they eat snacks during recess time?
No. Schoolchildren should develop the habit of eating breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. Breakfast is a main meal that cannot be neglected and should be eaten at a regular time, with grains (e.g. bread, congee and oatmeal) as the main ingredient. Eating breakfast can boost schoolchildren's ability to think and learn. Skipping breakfast may result in schoolchildren eating too much during recess or lunch time. As long as children eat a balanced diet, they may have a small amount of snacks between main meals to replenish energy and water.

EatSmart School Accreditation Scheme

Salt Reduction Scheme for School Lunches

Joyful Fruit Month

健康飲食在校園   健康飲食在校園   
  
 
飲食小百科
如何判斷孩子是過重或過輕?
我們可以利用「身高別體重圖表」(Weight-for-Height Chart),來判斷孩子的身高與體重是否符合比例。若孩子的體重超出身高別體重的中位數20%或以上(即是中位數的120%),便屬過重;若孩子的體重低於身高別體重的中位數20%或以下(即是中位數的80%),便屬過輕。孩子若過重或過輕,宜諮詢醫生或營養師,以便跟進。
我的孩子有偏食習慣,有何解決辦法?
一般來說,偏食是指孩子經常拒絕進食某些食物,而其中的原因可能包括不愉快的進食經驗、模仿照顧者的偏食習慣、沒有正確的食物營養知識、牙齒問題。家長應先了解孩子偏食的情況和原因,再商議對策,不要馬上把偏食行為認定為品行問題。
很多時候,偏食行為會隨年齡增長而有所改善。只要孩子不是完全拒絕進食某一種食物組別,身體發育和機能不受影響,短暫的偏食行為是可以接受的。家長應繼續提供多元化的食物,締造愉快的進食環境,並且以身作則,與孩子一同進食。除此以外,家長可以透過不同方法鼓勵孩子多嘗試他們抗拒的食物,例如改變食物的烹調方式、給予口頭讚賞,以及與孩子一起下廚,以其抗拒的食物作食材,令他們對該食物改觀。
《學生午膳營養指引》(最新版)建議,健康午膳提供穀物類、蔬菜類和肉類(及其代替品)佔飯盒容量的比例應是3:2:1。肉類吃最少的話,會否影響孩子發育和成長?
根據「健康飲食金字塔」,孩子每天需要適量攝取蛋白質。建議初小及高小學生分別需要每餐進食1至2份及1½至2½份的肉、魚、蛋及代替品,便能攝取足夠蛋白質,維持身體機能正常運作和促進健康成長。
孩子常常都感到肚餓,這樣正常嗎?
小朋友胃部容量較小,活動量較大,故或會容易感到肚餓。當孩子感到肚餓時,家長可參考衞生署的《學生小食營養指引》(最新版),為他們提供一些低脂肪、低鹽分、低糖分及高膳食纖維的健康小食。但請緊記小食不宜過量進食,而且不應在太接近正餐的時間才吃,以免影響胃口。
我的孩子偏瘦,無論吃什麼都不能增肥,怎麼辦?
偏瘦或營養吸收不良有很多原因,包括先天因素或後天的不良飲食習慣。家長可先觀察孩子的日常飲食習慣,並參考「健康飲食金字塔」,判斷孩子有沒有攝取充足營養。家長亦可幫助孩子養成定時進食的習慣,並為他們準備營養均衡的正餐或健康小食。另外,多做運動有助身體發育。若情況沒有明顯改善,可諮詢醫生或營養師的專業意見。
孩子很喜歡甜食,可否用代糖代替砂糖?
代糖即甜味劑,是帶甜味而熱量低的食物添加劑,能在多種食物中取代糖。於食物中加入甜味劑,便更容易令孩子嗜甜。因此,小學生應少吃甜味劑,以免影響健康及妨礙成長。另外,應鼓勵孩子從小淺嚐甜食,培養少甜飲食習慣。
我的孩子要吃宵夜,怎麼辦?
父母應先了解孩子的需要,若孩子因肚餓而無法入睡,家長可提供少量的健康小食,如麥包、小餐包、水果或低脂奶,切忌過量進食。若吃宵夜只是孩子的壞習慣,家長便應妥善教導孩子,幫助他們建立健康的飲食習慣。
如果早餐沒有蔬菜,孩子在其餘兩餐要吃多少蔬菜?
6至11歲的小朋友應每天最少進食2份蔬菜,而1份蔬菜相等於1碗未經煮熟的蔬菜或半碗煮熟的蔬菜。小朋友如在早餐吃不到蔬菜,便應在午餐、晚餐或茶點時間平均地進食足夠分量的蔬菜。
我的孩子有體重上升的趨勢,但是食物分量太少的話,他/她又吃不飽,怎麼辦?
如小朋友有體重上升的趨勢,家長不用過分緊張和擔心,更無須利用坊間的節食或減肥方法為小朋友減肥,以免影響成長和發育。家長只要鼓勵孩子多做運動和戒除不良的飲食習慣,便有助體重到達正常水平。家長可以參考衞生署在《學生午膳營養指引》(最新版)內所提供的建議,為小朋友提供足夠分量和營養均衡的膳食。請緊記,若孩子在發育期間過分節食或以錯誤的方法減肥,或會影響他們的身心發展。如有需要,家長可諮詢醫生或營養師的專業意見。
睡前多久不能進食?是否完全不能進食?
由於胃部的排空時間大約是3至4小時,為免胃部不適,應在睡覺前3至4小時盡量避免進食。但睡覺前若感到肚餓,可進食少量健康小食,例如麥包、小餐包、水果或低脂奶。
薯仔屬於蔬菜類嗎?
薯仔與番薯一樣,碳水化合物含量很高,故此視為穀物類食物。至於其他被視為穀物類的根莖類蔬菜(如芋頭和紅蘿蔔),則應算作蔬菜類,因為它們的膳食纖維含量較高。
低脂奶品類如牛奶、乳酪或芝士會否不夠營養?
奶品類食物含豐富鈣質,有助兒童牙齒和骨骼的發展。其實,低脂奶品類與全脂奶品類的部分營養成分相若,如蛋白質及鈣質。然而,低脂奶品類的熱量及脂肪含量較全脂奶品類低,有助維持健康的體重。
雞肉是否較牛肉健康?
紅肉(如豬、牛、羊肉)與白肉(如魚及去皮雞肉)所含的營養成分略有不同。一般來說,紅肉含有較豐富的鐵質,而鐵質是身體製造紅血球的必要元素;而白肉所含的脂肪量較紅肉低,因此兩者都各有所長。日常飲食中適量地進食這兩種肉類,並配以低脂、低鹽及低糖的烹調方法對身體都有益處。
什麼是「份」(serving/portion)?「份」與「分量」(serving size/portion size) 有何分別?
「份」是營養界常用的一個量度單位,用來形容每天應從不同食物組別攝取多少食物;而「分量」則是用來形容1「份」食物有多少。例如:成人每天應進食最少3份蔬菜,而1份蔬菜是半碗煮熟的蔬菜或1碗(約250至300毫升)未煮熟的蔬菜。
什麼是飽和脂肪?
飽和脂肪又名「飽和脂肪酸」。進食過量飽和脂肪不但會導致過重或肥胖,更會令血液中的壞膽固醇的水平上升,增加患上心血管疾病及中風的風險。大部分由動物而來的脂肪或油分及小部分植物油(如椰子油和棕櫚油)均含高飽和脂肪,應少吃為妙。
什麼食油才健康?
橄欖油、芥花籽油和粟米油是較健康的植物油,含較多不飽和脂肪。但要緊記,即使油的種類不同,它們所含的熱量相若,過量攝取同樣會導致肥胖,影響健康。
什麼是棕櫚油?容易在食物中找到嗎?
棕櫚油是由棕櫚樹的果實提煉而成的植物油,並含高飽和脂肪,故此過量攝取會導致血液中的壞膽固醇水平上升,增加患上心血管疾病或中風的風險。許多食品生產商均會以棕櫚油製造即食食品或零食,如即食麪、杯麪、薯片、蝦條或夾心餅乾。市民應減少進食這些食品,並在選購食品時留意包裝上的成分表,看看該食品是否含有棕櫚油。
葡萄籽油和米糠油健康嗎?
葡萄籽油和米糠油屬植物油,含高不飽和脂肪,有助降低血液中的膽固醇水平和減低患上心血管疾病的風險。
市面上有一些乳酸菌飲品獲標籤為健康飲品,這些飲品對孩子有益嗎?
有研究顯示乳酸菌能促進腸道健康,但由於市面上大多數含乳酸菌的飲品都添加了糖分,過量飲用可能會導致攝取過多糖分或熱量,不利身體健康。因此,不宜飲用過量乳酸菌飲品。以每100毫升含5至7.5克糖的乳酸菌飲品為例,建議每星期(五個上課天計)飲用不多於兩次,並需配合均衡飲食。
可否給孩子喝運動飲品,作為水的替代品?
由於市面上大部分運動飲品的成分都是以水和糖為主。如以運動飲品代替清水,用作補充孩子日常流失的水分,有機會令他們嗜甜,妨礙建立良好的飲食習慣。如要補充日常生活中或活動時所流失的水分,清水是最合適和方便的選擇。因此,孩子應每天定時適量飲用喝適量的水分,而清水是最合適和方便的選擇。
植物牛油是否較牛油健康,多用來煮食亦無妨?
用植物牛油來煮食不會較牛油健康。植物牛油含有反式脂肪,進食過量會令血液中的壞膽固醇水平上升,同時降低好膽固醇水平,增加患上心血管疾病或中風的風險。此外,植物牛油的熱量與牛油相同,進食過量亦會增加熱量的吸收而引致肥胖。
平日已很少用油煮食,但仍是肥胖,為什麼?
除了脂肪或油分,過量進食任何食物都會攝取過多熱量,容易致肥,所以應留意每天的進食分量是否過多,詳情可參考「健康飲食金字塔」。另外,多坐少動的生活模式會減少熱量支出,造成熱量過剩,多餘的熱量會囤積成體內脂肪,引致肥胖。因此,想擁有健康體重,除了控制飲食外,適量的運動亦同樣重要。
豬骨老火湯是否對身體有益?
很多人認為豬骨老火湯含有豐富的鈣質,孩子多喝的話會有助骨骼成長。其實,熬煮的過程無法釋出豬骨的鈣質,反而使大量脂肪(尤其是飽和脂肪)溶入湯水,容易令人攝取過量飽和脂肪,因此不宜多喝。為了孩子的健康着想,家長可利用瓜菜、乾豆類及少量的魚或瘦肉煮成清湯。
初小與高小的午膳分量相同嗎?
初小與高小學生的每天營養所需不同,因此對穀物類和肉類(及其代替品)的需求都有分別。請參考《學生午膳營養指引》(最新版),查看建議分量的資料。蔬菜及水果的建議攝取量則沒有太大分別。
早午晚三餐的熱量或營養攝取比例應為多少?
早午晚三餐應各佔全日熱量或營養所需的百分之三十。
若發現學校的午膳供應商所供應的食物不太健康,而家長又沒有時間為小朋友準備午膳,怎麼辨?
家長可參考衞生署的《學生午膳營養指引》(最新版),向學校的膳食專責小組反映學童午膳營養的問題。
少飯多餸是否可攝取較多營養,不會致肥?
不是。健康正餐提供穀物類、蔬菜類和肉類(及其代替品)佔飯盒容量的比例應是3:2:1。穀物類(例如飯、麪)含豐富碳水化合物,應吃最多,有助身體補充熱量。蔬菜和水果含有豐富的膳食纖維、維生素及礦物質,而且新鮮蔬果多是低熱量及低脂肪,應該多吃。6至11歲兒童每天建議吃最少2份蔬菜及2份水果。至於肉類的脂肪量較米飯高,多吃容易增加熱量而致肥,應適量進食。
為什麼孩子要吃小食?
若孩子一日三餐吃得均衡,能夠攝取足夠熱量和營養素,小食當然不是必需的。由於孩子的胃容量通常較小,他們未必能於正餐進食足夠食物,滿足營養所需。孩子的日常活動量較大,小食可讓他們補充熱量和水分。但緊記小食不宜過量進食,亦不能取代正餐。
孩子應何時吃小食呢?
小食應在兩頓正餐之間供應。為免影響孩子進食下一頓正餐的胃口,小食時間與正餐最少應相隔1.5至2小時。
孩子總喜歡挑選煎炸小食,怎麼辦?
要改善小朋友的飲食習慣,可以先減少孩子一週進食煎炸食物的次數,循序漸進地用一些新鮮的蔬菜或水果代替煎炸小食。家長應對孩子有耐性,提供味道清新、顏色鮮豔的各款蔬果。孩子的適應力很強,很快便可以接受新的口味。
若孩子不喜歡喝水來補充水分,可以用紙包飲品或甜味飲品來吸引他們嗎?
充足的水分對身體十分重要,能幫助消化和吸收食物,並促進新陳代謝,預防便秘。家長應時刻鼓勵孩子多喝清水,建議每天飲用約6至8杯流質。加糖的紙包果汁的糖分較高,多喝容易致肥。除清水外,低脂奶或低糖豆漿也是較健康的選擇。
學童若在小息吃小食,是否不用吃早餐,以免進食過量?
不是。學童應培養每天進食早、午、晚三餐的習慣。早餐是不可忽略的正餐,應該定時進食,而且要以穀物類(如麪包、粥或麥皮)為主。吃早餐可增強學童的思考及學習能力。不吃早餐可能會導致學童於小息時或午膳時過量進食。只要每餐吃得均衡,孩子仍可在正餐之間進食少量小食,補充體力和水分。

至營學校認證計劃

學校午膳減鹽計劃

開心果月